top of page

The Unbreakable Ali McManus

Ali McManus is a gifted singer-songwriter and inspirational speaker based in Detroit, Michigan. Often known as Unbreakable Ali, she has faced many challenges throughout her life. Over and over again, however, Ali faces these challenges and uses them to make herself stronger and to change other people’s lives for the better.



Here is her story in her own words:


“My disability is very rare. What I have is so rare that there are possibly only a couple other cases that have been found that are similar to mine in the whole world. What I have is something called Osteogenesis Imperfecta also known as OI. This affects me on a daily basis. It makes getting around harder by the fact that I am in a wheelchair. Also, it makes me be on edge/being as careful as I can, so I don’t break any bones because OI makes your bones weak.


(Ali pictured with Sophie's parents)


Although I have been through many challenges in my life, I never let any of that stand in my way of doing what I love. I love sharing my story through my original songs either by recordings or live on stage. I also get so much fulfillment from sharing my motivational keynote speech to schools and businesses to hopefully show them that if I can do it so can they and to show them that they are unbreakable!


It means a lot to me to show others that no matter what struggles you may be going through you can’t let it stand in the way of your dreams.



Music has given me a positive and healing outlet for myself and better yet for others! I always say ‘singing a song is like my 3 minutes of no pain.’


Music has for sure changed my life for the better! I can escape for a while and try to take a break from what pain I may be in or what I’ve gone through before.


When I had to spend a lot of time in the hospital in 2010 they sadly didn’t have music therapy at that time, so I took it into my own hands. My grandpa surprised me with an electric keyboard and my mom had a vocal coach come in once a week to give me lessons. I kind of became their go to performer for the events they would hold!


During that time I truly found my love for music and how much it can heal your soul. I always said that once I was well enough I would do everything in my power to help bring music to other kids that might be struggling in the hospital and show them that it does get better, and that there is a healthy way to express yourself through music!


My songs are written based on my life’s hardships and experiences to hopefully benefit my audience for the better! Not only are my songs for the audience, they are a healthy outlet for me. ‘Songwriting are the words I can’t say out loud.’ It truly helped me get through all the pain I had to endure, it gave me something to look forward to!”



Although Ali did not have the opportunity to be treated by a music therapist during her hospital stays, Ali was able to support music therapy at C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital when the first Sophie’s Place in the Midwestern region of the United States opened! Ali performed with another skilled musician, Jake Allen, at the grand opening of that Sophie’s Place! Ali has also performed at the Sophie’s Place in Mesa, Arizona at Banner Desert Medical Center. Everywhere she performs, her music and her story touch lives. Following Sophie’s legacy, the Unbreakable Ali is always inspiring those around her to #ShineOn.


237238673_200239765467544_2644706976428684485_n.jpg

We're glad you're here!

Music has miraculous effects in the lives of our patients and we know it can in your life too. Feel free to press on the link on the top right corner of this page to visit our website if you would like to learn more or donate.

Never miss a post!

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page